In Texas, it is generally not possible to buy any alcoholic beverages from stores on Christmas Day. The state has what are known as “blue laws” that ban the sale of alcohol on most major religious holidays like Christmas, Easter and Thanksgiving.
However, there are exceptions to the law. Package stores, which are specially licensed to sell beer and wine, can still sell alcohol on Christmas Day if their owners obtain a special permit from their local county clerk.
Additionally, restaurants, bars, and private clubs are allowed to sell alcohol on Christmas Day since they are exempt from the blue law. So if you want to purchase an alcoholic beverage on Christmas Day in Texas, you may be able to do so as long as you contact the right establishments.
- 1 What holidays can you not buy alcohol in Texas?
- 2 Can gas stations sell beer on Christmas in Texas?
- 3 When can I buy liquor in Texas?
- 4 Is the blue law still in effect in Texas?
- 5 Can grocery stores sell liquor in Texas?
- 6 Can a 18 year old drink with parents in Texas?
- 7 What time do gas stations stop selling beer in Texas?
- 8 Does Texas sell alcohol on holidays?
- 9 Why are liquor stores closed on Sundays in Texas?
- 10 How many counties in Texas are dry?
- 11 How far does a liquor store have to be from a church in Texas?
What holidays can you not buy alcohol in Texas?
But some local jurisdictions may prohibit sales on Thanksgiving, Christmas, or New Year’s Day.
Can gas stations sell beer on Christmas in Texas?
No, gas stations are not allowed to sell beer on Christmas in Texas. The only exceptions are if the gas station is located within 300 feet of a border with another state that does allow the sale of beer on Christmas, or if the gas station has a specific permit from the state.
When can I buy liquor in Texas?
Texas liquor laws allow for liquor to be sold in stores from 9:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. on weekdays, and from 10:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. on weekends.
Is the blue law still in effect in Texas?
In short, yes, the blue law is still in effect in Texas.
The blue law originally dates back to the colonial era in America, and was designed to enforce religious standards on activities that could be conducted on Sundays. Sunday was traditionally seen as a day of rest, and the blue law was designed to prevent people from working on that day.
While the specifics of the blue law have changed over time, it is still generally enforced in Texas. This means that certain businesses, such as restaurants and retail stores, are not allowed to operate on Sundays.
However, there are some exceptions to the rule, such as businesses that are considered to be essential services.
Can grocery stores sell liquor in Texas?
Yes, grocery stores in Texas are allowed to sell liquor. The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) oversees the sale of all alcohol in the state, and grocery stores are licensed by the TABC to sell liquor.
liquor sales are regulated by the Texas Commission on Alcohol and Drug Abuse (TCADA).
Can a 18 year old drink with parents in Texas?
Yes, a 18 year old can drink with parents in Texas. So as long as you are with your parents and they give you permission, you can drink. However, keep in mind that alcohol can be dangerous and should be consumed in moderation.
What time do gas stations stop selling beer in Texas?
The alcoholic beverage code in Texas prohibits the sale of alcoholic beverages from 2:00 a. m. to 7:00 a. m. However, many gas stations will stop selling beer sooner than this, typically around midnight.
While there are some gas stations that are open 24 hours, most will close overnight and will not sell any alcoholic beverages during that time.
Does Texas sell alcohol on holidays?
One of these laws prohibits the sale of alcohol on holidays. This law is in place in order to reduce the amount of alcohol consumption on these days. Additionally, it is believed that this law helps to prevent alcohol-related accidents and incidents.
Why are liquor stores closed on Sundays in Texas?
But one theory is that the law is intended to promote family values by giving families a day to spend together without the temptation of alcohol. Another theory is that the law is meant to give people a day of rest from the work week, and that buying alcohol is not an essential activity that needs to be done on a Sunday.
How many counties in Texas are dry?
There are 254 counties in Texas and approximately 115 of them are “dry”, meaning that they do not allow the sale of alcoholic beverages.
How far does a liquor store have to be from a church in Texas?
As well as the city or county in which they are located. However, a general guideline is that a liquor store in Texas must be located at least 300 feet from a church.