Skip to Content

What are the 13 protected characteristics?

The thirteen protected characteristics, as outlined in The Equality Act 2010, are age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, race, religion or belief, sex, sexual orientation, pregnancy and maternity, gender, marriage and civil partnership status, pregnancy and maternity and race.

Age is protected from discrimination if you are eighteen years of age or over. Disability includes physical and mental disabilities and health conditions which may hinder a person’s ability to do certain things.

Gender reassignment refers to the process of changing gender identity from the one assigned at birth. Marriage and civil partnership refers to the legal union of two individuals to create a family and life partnership.

Race indicates a person’s ethnic origin or background. Religion or belief refers to an individual’s beliefs and values. Sex is related to a person’s gender. Sexual orientation is a person’s physical, emotional or romantic attraction to another person.

Pregnancy and Maternity covers pregnant women and new mothers in the workplace. Gender is an individual’s personal identification as male, female or in between, neither or both.

Which of the following is not a protected personal characteristics?

None of the following are protected personal characteristics: age, gender, race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, disabilities, or socioeconomic status. While these characteristics may be used to identify or distinguish one person from another, they are not legally protected categories and therefore do not qualify as “protected personal characteristics.

” In most jurisdictions, it is illegal to discriminate against someone based on any of these characteristics. For example, it is unlawful to refuse to hire an individual based on his or her race or to deny housing to someone because of their religion.

In addition, it is illegal to treat employees differently based on their age.

How much can you get from a discrimination lawsuit settlement?

The amount of money you can get from a discrimination lawsuit settlement will depend on the specific details of the case. Generally, the amount of money a plaintiff can receive from the settlement of a discrimination lawsuit will be depend on the severity of the discrimination, the extent of the damage caused, and the financial resources available to the company responsible for the discrimination.

Depending upon these factors, a plaintiff could be awarded up to millions of dollars. In addition to money, a resolution may include an order to hire, promote, and train a member of the class that has been excluded.

The resolution could also include a requirement that the responsible company implement policies and procedures to ensure compliance with civil rights laws. Non-monetary settlements, such as job reinstatement, promotion, or training can also result from a discrimination lawsuit.

If a person files a discrimination lawsuit, they should consult with an experienced attorney who can help them understand their legal rights, as well as what kind of compensation and other remedies they may be eligible for.

What are the 4 main types of discrimination?

The four main types of discrimination are:

1. Direct Discrimination: Treating someone less favorably than others on the grounds of their age, race, sexual orientation, gender, ethnicity, nationality or religion. This includes a refusal to provide services, promote or hire someone because they are from a certain ethnic group or have a certain religious or political belief.

2. Indirect Discrimination: Treating someone indirectly or through a policy or rule that is physically discriminative or has the effect of disadvantaging someone because of their age, race, sexual orientation, gender, ethnicity, nationality or religion.

3. Victimization: Victimization is when someone is treated less favorably because they have made an allegation or have supported a complaint about discrimination.

4. Harassment: Harassment is any unwanted comments or behavior that is intimidating, degrading, or offensive that relates to a person’s race, gender, sexual orientation, age, ethnicity, nationality or religion.

What are the aims of the general equality duty?

The general equality duty is an important part of the Equality Act 2010, which sets out to protect people from discrimination arising from nine protected characteristics. The aim of the general equality duty is to ensure that public bodies act to eliminate discrimination, advance equality of opportunity and foster good relations between different groups of people.

It seeks to uphold these values by requiring public bodies to:

• Have due regard to the need to eliminate unlawful discrimination and promote equal opportunities

• Advance equality of opportunity between people who have one or more of the protected characteristics, which include age, disability, sex, race, religion and belief and sexual orientation

• Foster good relations between people who differ in terms of those protected characteristics.

The general equality duty applies to all public bodies, such as government departments, local authorities and police forces, schools, hospitals and other healthcare providers, universities and further education institutions, prisons and courts.

Furthermore, it also applies to all other organisations that carry out public functions.

By meeting their general duty, relevant public bodies are able to develop services, policies and processes that are fully inclusive and provide fair treatment for everyone. This ensures that an equitable balance is maintained in society, and prevents injustice.