Skip to Content

What time do stores stop selling alcohol in Texas?

In Texas, the sale of all alcoholic beverages, including beer and wine, is prohibited between the hours of midnight and 7:00 a. m. Monday through Saturday and from 1:00 a. m. to 12:00 p. m. on Sunday.

There are some exceptions, however. Certain counties may have extended hours for alcohol sales. Off-premise liquor stores, package stores and distributors must adhere to the standard restrictions on hours of sale outlined above.

Furthermore, for all retail outlets that sell alcoholic beverages, it is illegal to sell to customers between the hours of 1:00 a. m. and 7:00 a. m. on Sunday, from 1:00 a. m. and 8:00 a. m. on Monday through Saturday, or at any other time not specified above.

Additionally, it is illegal to sell alcohol to anyone who is in obviously underage or to any intoxicated person.

Does Kroger sell liquor in Texas?

Yes, Kroger does sell liquor in Texas. In addition to selling beer and wine at most of their store locations, they also have Spirits of Texas stores that are dedicated solely to the sale of liquor. In order to shop at a Spirits of Texas store, customers must present a valid form of government-issued photo identification, such as a driver’s license, and be 21 years of age or older.

Additionally, Kroger also offers pickup and delivery services for customers who wish to purchase liquor from one of their Spirits of Texas locations. No matter which Kroger store you visit, please always remember to “drink responsibly”.

Can you buy alcohol after 9pm in Texas?

No, you cannot buy alcohol after 9pm in Texas. This is because Texas has specific laws regulating the sale of alcohol that prohibit stores from selling any alcoholic beverages after 9pm. Furthermore, individuals under the age of 21 are not allowed to purchase or consume alcoholic beverages.

Lastly, it is important to remember that all bars, restaurants, and other establishments that serve alcoholic beverages must close by 2am as per the state law.

How late can I buy beer in Texas?

In Texas, you can buy beer in most grocery and convenience stores until midnight on weekdays, 2 a. m. on Saturday, and midnight on Sundays. The only exception is on Sundays in certain counties and cities, where beer sales are prohibited.

So if you live in a county that does not allow sales on Sundays, you will only have until midnight on Saturday night to purchase beer.

Additionally, for sale for off-premise consumption, beer with an alcoholic content of up to 4.0 percent may be sold from 4 a. m. to 12 a. m. Monday through Saturday and 12:00 p. m. until 12:00 a. m. on Sundays.

Beer with an alcoholic content of more than 4.0 percent may be sold between 10 a. m. and 12 a. m. Monday through Saturday and 12:00 p. m. until 12:00 a. m. on Sundays.

That being said, if you are trying to find places that serve beer later than midnight, it is usually best to look into bars, restaurants, and other places that serve alcohol.

Does Texas sell alcohol in gas stations?

Yes, Texas allows beer and wine to be sold in gas stations, though not all gas stations choose to do so. Liquor sales are not permitted in gas stations in Texas. Instead, liquor is only available at stores that have a separate stand-alone building, have been in operation for at least five years, and allocate 51 percent of their total sales to liquor.

Those stores also must be an equal distance from any schools, churches or residences, as outlined by specific Texas laws. In Texas, alcohol can be purchased at grocery stores and pharmacies, too. There are also no limits on exact hours or days of the week that alcohol can be sold.

Is the blue law still in effect in Texas?

Yes, the blue law is still in effect in Texas, although it varies based on county and city. The Texas Constitution, Chapter 659, outlines what is and is not allowed under the Texas blue law, which dates back to the 1700s.

Under the law, Sunday remains a day of rest, and most retail stores and other commercial businesses are required to close unless specified. This includes bars and nightclubs, which, depending on the county, can only operate between noon and 1 a. m.

on Sundays. Grocery stores, gas stations, and other essential goods businesses may be allowed to remain open, but the hours may be limited. Other exceptions may be granted by local governing bodies or businesses, so the laws may vary from city to city or county to county.

Do they sell liquor in grocery stores in Texas?

Yes, liquor is sold in grocery stores in Texas. The sale of liquor in grocery stores is regulated by the Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC). As of 2021, grocery stores throughout the state of Texas are allowed to sell beer and wine with up to 8.

25% alcohol by volume (ABV). The sale of liquors with higher alcohol by volume (ABV) is not allowed. In Texas, liquor is generally only sold in liquor stores and other businesses licensed to sell liquors.

However, businesses with a Mixed Beverage Permit (MBP) will offer spirits or liquors. Additionally, main street businesses that offer on-site alcohol consumption, such as bars and restaurants, are able to sell liquor.

What time can you buy alcohol in Ohio on Sunday?

In Ohio, the legal purchasing age for alcohol is 21, so anyone attempting to purchase alcohol must be 21 years old or older. Alcohol cannot legally be purchased in the state of Ohio on Sundays until after 8:00 am.

At no time can alcohol be purchased between the hours of 2:30 am and 8:00 am. Also, all party stores, grocery stores, and other establishments that sell alcohol must close no later than 1:00 am on Sunday mornings.

Is Texas a dry state?

No, Texas is not a dry state. While there are numerous areas in Texas which still have dry laws prohibiting the sale of alcohol, these laws are decreasing in number. Currently, all Texas counties allow the sale of packaged beer, wine and spirits at off-premises retailers, while on-premises retailers like restaurants, bars, and taverns may sell alcoholic beverages with a permit.

The state also allows different cities to implement their own regulations controlling alcohol sales, such as allowing alcohol sales on Sunday or restricting the sale of beer after midnight. In more densely populated areas such as Houston, alcohol sales are more widespread.

Overall, while Texas has a rich history of dry laws and prohibitions, in recent years it has become less and less of a “dry state. “.

Why is liquor expensive in Texas?

Liquor in Texas is expensive because of a few different factors. First, alcohol is subject to three types of taxation: state, federal, and local. Depending on the location, each of these taxes can be quite costly on alcohol.

Furthermore, Texas has strict laws on how alcohol can be sold and shipped. All liquor must be sold through approved distributors, meaning the costs of shipping and distribution are added to the price of the product.

Finally, Texas law requires a markup of 17-22% be tacked on prices before they are sold to customers. This markup is intended to prevent individuals from over-consuming alcohol, and adds significant additional cost to the final retail price of liquor.

All of these factors contribute to why liquor is so expensive in Texas.